Signed. Sealed. Delivered.

Well kiddies it’s official. Last night O’Lala and I sent out our applications to teach in Thailand. It was incredibly exhilarating and now we get to play the horrible waiting game as the program reviews our materials. Let’s just say sending everything was a huge relief, especially after the whole ordeal of getting passport photos. Who knew they cost so much, even at CVS? At least I charmed the photo guy to giving me a package deal for them. Can’t say my PR skills don’t come in handy running errands.

I have to admit though, as big as a relief it was sending in the application I now sit with a little anxiety. I guess at every crossroads there comes hesitation. After hitting “submit” it all really came to the forefont that I seriously might be moving to Asia. The thought is both exhilarating and frightening. There are certain things I must admit (as much as I don’t want to) that I will miss. Hanging out with my roomies while shouting at March Madness games, lounging around playing frisbee at the park on a nice Saturday, running around the Esplanade and taking trips to the Arboretum. As precious as these things are to me, I know that the experience coming up will Jack Bauer anything on the table.

Perhaps it’s not the fact that I might be moving to Asia, but rather that we ALL are now graduating and won’t have these opportunities anymore to just coexist with one another. We are still in that grace period where our identity is neither adult nor college student. Maybe my sudden nostalgia for all things Boston is based on the fact that after May 7th, it won’t be the same again.

Well, let’s not talk about fare-thee-wells now. The night is a starry dome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment